Skip to content

Love is a many splendid thing…

January 29, 2009
tags: ,

I bring you this: a giant collection of thought-provoking and mind-exploding things to get you through your next week, if not the rest of the month.

Want to believe in something, Love the world the way it is.”

Melina Marchetta

☆ Waking up to find this in my inbox:

You’re so awesome, heeeeeee! Thank you!

Hyper-love & bunny kisses,
Miss Gala Darling.

☆ Planning meet ups for my darling rufflebutts.

☆ Corresponding with Robert.

☆ Neopets!!! I’m totally hooked! Friend me here: [moi!]

☆ Making mix cd’s!!!! Anyone want to request one? 8D

fluorescent adolescent by =theluckynine on deviantART

“The only people for me are the mad ones, the ones who are mad to live, mad to talk, mad to be saved, desirous of everything at the same time, the ones who never yawn or say a commonplace thing, but burn, burn, burn like fabulous yellow roman candles exploding like spiders across the stars.”

On the Road, Jack Kerouac

☆ Via | This kuro lolita photoshoot is so beautiful and elegant! I also really love this ero loli photo shoot. I remember seeing it posted aaages ago and absolutely fawning over it. And I think that we can all agree that is way. too. beautiful.

☆ Via | Pseudo historical French fashion shoots amuse the hell out of me. This one is so pretty!

☆ Via | Paul Dini’s Detective run: [1] [2] [3]

☆ Via | One that is simplistic and elegant, and another that is just wild. Also, a beautiful collage. This one is also great. Seriously, this whole comm is just so creative it makes my head want to implode!

☆ Everything on the comm. All of these awesome quotes came straight from there. Love IT!

☆ Via | Marie Antoinette loli turned out stunningly!

☆ Via | I would absolutely love to own a wonderland expedition kit.

“Beauty is everywhere. in the arrangement of your pots and pans, on the white wall of your kitchen, more perhaps than in your eighteenth-century salons or in the official museum.”

– Fernand Leger, “The Aesthetic of the Machine”

Guide the way by *girltripped on deviantART

“And so it is with happiness. When the talk of genetics and communal bonds and relative income is stripped away, happiness is a choice. Not an easy choice, not always a desirable one, but a choice nonetheless.”

The Geography of Bliss, Eric Weiner

☆ Via YOU ARE REMARKABLE | home, mirror, and start your day off well.

☆ Via 1000 Awesome Things | This goes along a similar vein as YOU ARE REMARKABLE’s “start your day off well”: #843

☆ Via Wonderella | VEEP of faith

☆ Via ZenHabits | The Secret to Being Insanely Creative and The Socratic Method to Great Living AND Google Features AND How to be Lazy were completely amazing. Also, Why You Should Celebrate Your Mistakes. ♥

“And so with the sunshine and the great bursts of leaves growing on the trees, just as things grow in fast movies, I had the familiar conviction that life was beginning over again in the summer.”

The Great Gatsby, F. Scott Fitzgerald

☆ This history of popular children’s toys is very interesting!

YOU ARE AMONG FRIENDS

☆ Via Gala Darling | Love this.

☆ Via Convention Fans | John de Lancie and Ricardo Montalban

Tim Walker is awesome

☆ Uglies LOVE

“It is no more important to count the sands than it is to name the stars.”

The Phantom Tollbooth, Norton Juster

.:Decadent:. by ~aisu on deviantART

“And yet, in spite of myself, my future appears before my eyes-— and its end. My future will resemble my past; it does so already. I can dimly see all my life, from one end to the other, all that I am, all that I shall have been.”

Light, Barbusse

☆ Via Dumb Little Man | 5 Simple Steps to Tidying up Painlessly should help out those of us messy ones.

☆ Via Time | This article breaks my heart. One of the things that fostered my love for writing was the physical feel of books. I have always loved to feel the weight of them in my hands, feeling the ink upon the page, the smell of bindings… It moves me. It just devastates me that such joy may one day never be known.

“Whatever we learn has a purpose and whatever we do affects everything and everyone else, if even in the tiniest way. Why, when a housefly flaps his wings, a breeze goes round the world; when a speck of dust falls to the ground, the entire planet weighs a little more; and when you stamp your foot, the earth moves slightly off its course. Whenever you laugh, gladness spreads like the ripples in a pond; and whenever you’re sad, no one anywhere can be really happy. And it’s much the same thing with knowledge, for whenever you learn something new, the whole world becomes that much richer.”

The Phantom Tollbooth, Norton Juster

☆ Also from Time | It’s nice to read something that proves Obama is still just a man, and as such is fallible. Beautiful film costumes. I’m really quite surprised they had to “discover” this: Smiling makes you happier. Ummm…duh? Should students be paid for their good grades brings up some interesting points. In related news, some parents in Virginia are fighting to lower grading standards in their school district. Facebook users create groups that express their personal beliefs. Crazy, huh? One last…well, I wouldn’t call it a hurrah. On Bush’s last press conference. John Updike has passed. Sad. In unrelated news, Super Bowl parties are suffering in the current economic situation. If internet addiction is defined as a six-hour consecutive use for three months straight, then we all need to book us a spot at this camp. Teleportation!

“They told me of substance and form; they told me of matter, of its consistency as a fluxion of minute, swarming atomies, as Democritus had writ; they told me of shape and essence; they told me of particles flying off the surfaces of things; they told me of color, that it was an illusion of the eye, an event in the perceiver’s mind, not in the object; they told me that color had no reality; indeed, they told me that color did not inhere in a physical body any more than pain was in a needle.
And then they imprisoned me in darkness, and though there was no color there, I still was black, and they still were white, and for that, they bound and gagged me.”

The Astonishing Life of Octavian Nothing, Traitor to the Nation, Volume I: The Pox Party, M.T. Anderson

☆ Via Cracked.com | Presidential pets. I liked the pygmy hippo and the badger! “It should be noted that getting your heels bitten by a wild badger was the least-violent greeting one could hope for when passing through the Roosevelt White House.” Oh my! Marvel origin stories versus science. Need I say more?

☆ Via the princess portal | Who says you have to grow up?

☆ Via Good Prattle | An awesome interview with Tom Felton. *swoon*

Rosencrantz: We’re not finished, then?
Guildenstern: Well, we’re here, aren’t we?
Rosencrantz: Are we? I can’t see a thing.
Guildenstern: You can still think, can’t you?
Rosencrantz: I think so.
Guildenstern: You can still talk.
Rosencrantz: What should I say?
Guildenstern: Don’t bother. You can feel, can’t you?
Rosencrantz: Ah! There’s life in me yet!

Rosecrantz and Guildenstern are Dead, Tom Stoppard

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

